Skip to main content


By July 9, 2018July 11th, 2018news

Unfortunately, due to personal reasons, Marjana Lipovšek had to cancel her participation in the jury of the 3rd International Competition for Young Opera Singers “Zinka Milanov”.

Fortunately, however, another great singer joined the special jury of the Rijeka Opera House, Giorgio Surian.

Giorgio Surian was only 20 years old when he debuted at the Croatian National Theatre “Ivan pl. Zajc” Rijeka, continuing his prolific international career at the world’s most renowned stages – the Scala of Milan, the Metropolitan Opera, Straatsoper in Wien, Opera de Lyon, Arena di Verona, Opera national de Paris, Royal Opera House in London, El Liceo in Barcelona, Bolshoi Theatre in Moscow, Teatro Real in Madrid, Salzburg Festival. He worked with prominent conductors such as Claudio Abbado, Carlos Kleiber, Riccardo Muti, Seiji Ozawa, Lovro von Matačić, Lorin Maazel, Zubin Mehta, Placido Domingo. He cooperates with top directors, such as Franco Zeffirelli, Ugo De Ana, Luca Ronconi, Werner Herzog, Chris Kraus, William Friedkin, Andrei Konchalovsky.
From 2008 on, he pursues a career in pedagogy, at the Academy of Music in Zagreb.

This year the competitors’ performances will be evaluated by two juries. The Zinka Milanov Awards Jury that will decide on the winners of the 3rd competition  (1st prize –  €3,000 | 2nd prize –  €2,000 | 3rd prize –  €1,000). Members of the Zinka Milanov Award Jury are Silvana Sintow-Behrens, Rosemary Joshua, Brenda Hurley,  Fabrizio Melano, Mariano Horak, Ville Matvejeff and Vlatka Oršanić.

The second is the Rijeka Opera House Jury  that will award two singers, semifinalists or finalists with the special award: appearance in a project of the Croatian National Theatre Ivan pl. Zajc in Rijeka, either opera production or a concert. Members of the Rijeka Opera House Jury are Giorgio Surian, Marin Blažević and Petar Kovačić.

Here you can read more about jury members.